Logo_Republicans-wide.png

Protect Permanent Fund and Avoid Income Tax

Wednesday March 1, 2017, Juneau, Alaska – There’s a small window for your voice to be heard on Alaska’s most pressing issue: the state operating budget. The Majority Coalition has proposed to take over $4-billion from the Permanent Fund Earnings Reserve and add an income tax to pay for government spending.

“We haven’t made enough government reductions to justify taking money from Alaskans through the use of the earnings reserve and a statewide income tax,” says Republican Whip Rep. Mike Chenault (R-Nikiski).

“If you have any hope of being part of the budget process and forcing reductions to the footprint of state government, it is essential that you testify during this week’s public testimony,” says Rep. Cathy Tilton (R-Wasilla).

“This plan would be devastating to Alaskans. It hurts the permanent fund and the ability to pay future dividends,” says Rep. Tammie Wilson (R-North Pole).

Public testimony will begin tomorrow afternoon and is limited to two minutes per person. You’ll need to visit your local LIO to testify. Below is the schedule.

 

Thursday, March 2, 2017

1:00 – 3:30 p.m. Kenai, Matanuska-Susitna Borough

3:45 – 6:00 p.m. Fairbanks

XXX

For more information contact your local representative.

Rep.Mike.Chenault@akleg.gov, Rep.Tammie.Wilson@akleg.gov, Rep.Cathy.Tilton@akleg.gov Rep.Gary.Knopp@akleg.gov or Rep.Steve.Thompson@akleg.gov

House Republican's Press Office

907-465-3842

Mallory.Walser@akleg.gov

Signup for Press Notifications

Name *
Email *

Please type the letter and
numbers shown below:

Captcha Code